News

Use Internet Archive for Accessing Books Online via OneSearch

Did you know that OneSearch provides direct Internet Archive links to the full content of 105,720 books owned by the Hunter College Libraries? Search by keywords, such as author, words in title, subjects, and your results will show full text resources with “Available Online” links, like the following (image below of Internet Archive link to a book from the OneSearch screen):

Clicking on the “Internet Archive – Available for Preview and Borrowing” link should take you directly to that book’s full text. You will have to create a free account with Internet Archive before you can read the book, but during a pandemic with limited access, this can be a helpful option!

Internet Archive is a non-profit library of millions of free books, movies, software, music, websites, and more. Go to https://archive.org/index.php for more information.

Posted Tuesday, February 2, 2021 - 9:40am under books, textbooks, onesearch, Internet Archive.

Defeating Disinformation

A recent column in the Chronicle of Higher Education highlights how colleges and universities battle disinformation through media and information literacy programs.

Libraries and librarians play an important role through research guides focused on citizen literacy, and courses like Hunter College Libraries Introduction to Information Research.

You can read the column through the Hunter College Libraries subscription to The Chronicle of Higher Education. Do you have any stories about disinformation? We would love to hear them!

Posted Thursday, January 21, 2021 - 4:55pm under information literacy, information research.

We now have a subscription to Covidence!

Hunter College Libraries is now an institutional subscriber to Covidence. This means that anyone with a Hunter College affiliated email address can obtain a Covidence account and access web-based support for systematic literature reviews by visiting this page: https://app.covidence.org/organizations/7Y9mQ/signup

Covidence’s system supports screening and data extraction for literature reviews with systematic elements such as scoping reviews, umbrella reviews, rapid reviews, and related types. Students and faculty in all of our health and social science programs are likely to find that Covidence enhances their efficiency when screening articles and classifying and extracting data from them.

Not sure what a systematic review is? Or how to incorporate Covidence or systematic review methodology you into your review? Check out our Systematic Review guide: https://libguides.library.hunter.cuny.edu/systematic_review or get in touch with John Pell (jpell@hunter.cuny.edu) for a consultation.

Posted Friday, January 8, 2021 - 10:19am under Covidence, literature review, systematic review, research.

Happy Holiday Season

Since we can't go into the Archives now, take a look at some images from Hunter College's Archives and Special Collections on fllckr.

Image credit: The Wistarion, Pg. 174-175, 1937, Archives & Special Collections, Hunter College Libraries, Hunter College of the City University of New York, New York City.

Posted Monday, December 21, 2020 - 7:30pm under Wistarion, archives, Christmas.

De-stressing tips for finals week

It's finals time and and a good time to be mindful of de-stressing tips.

The basics:

Eat healthy meals and snacks
Drink water
Sleep

Additional tips:

Manage your time
Exercise
Take breaks for calming leisure activities like coloring, knitting, meditating, playing with pets or watching cute pet videos
Listen to soothing music (See the Music- Audio options available through Hunter College Libraries' databases)

There are plenty of free apps for time management, yoga, meditation and coloring. YouTube has lots of free yoga videos, too.

Breathe!

Posted Monday, December 7, 2020 - 4:11pm under finals, stress-relief.

Artstor for Images

Do you want to employ images in your presentations?

Do not let the name fool you, the images in Artstor extend far beyond the field of art. Studies have shown that incorporating visuals into lectures, papers, and research improves information retention and observational skills, regardless of discipline.

Check out this link for a guide to the numerous disciplines, from African American Studies to Women’s Studies, supported by the Artstor Digital Library

Choose Artsor from Hunter College Libraries’ list of image databases to get started.

Image: Domenico Remps. Cabinet of Curiosities. Second half of the 17th century. Image and original data provided by SCALA, Florence/ART RESOURCE, N.Y.

Posted Tuesday, November 24, 2020 - 9:34am under images, art, Artstor, databases.

APA 7th Citation Guidelines

Wondering how to cite your research paper in the updated, APA 7th edition format? Hunter provides access to the official APA Style Guide. To access this guide, go to the list of Hunter databases by TITLE, and select APA Style Guidelines. (If you prefer to use a different citation guide, try our link to Excelsior College’s Online Writing Lab).

Databases Browse By menu with Titles selected and a red arrow pointing right towards APA Style Guidelines

The Style Guide provides numerous examples of how to cite journal articles, websites, and e book chapters, to name just a few. Sample papers are also provided!

A list of popular style guidelines from the APA Style Guidelines website

Need additional help with APA or another citation style such as MLA? The Rockowitz Writing Center is open for virtual appointments and video tutoring.

Image from the header of this article:

Studying in the Library

The Wistarion, p. 122, 1984, Archives & Special Collections, Hunter College Libraries, Hunter College of the City University of New York, New York City.

For more information: library.hunter.cuny.edu/archives-special-collections

https://flic.kr/p/z84EAD

Posted Thursday, November 19, 2020 - 10:24am under citation, APA, APA 7th, guides, resources.

How to Find Mental Tests and Measures

Does your discipline use mental tests and measures? Have you struggled to obtain full text of these items? You may know that many factors limit the availability of these materials including copyright and publishers’ restrictions. However, the Library can obtain instruments that were published in a book, article or dissertation. There are many ways to search for instruments that were published in books, articles, or dissertations, as well as some tests that are available free online. This guide can help get you started: http://libguides.library.hunter.cuny.edu/tests

Some of the sections that are available in print books may be obtained via interlibrary loan during the pandemic. You are welcome to contact am2621@hunter.cuny.edu for help with exploring tests available to us.

Image credit:

Students studying learning patterns of white rats, Department of Psychology

Hunter Alumni Quarterly, Pg. 10, January 1964, Archives & Special Collections, Hunter College Libraries, Hunter College of the City University of New York, New York City.

https://flic.kr/p/fj1ng8

Posted Friday, November 13, 2020 - 10:53am under tests, measures.

Google vs. Library Databases

Why choose library databases over Google?  This librarian's answer might surprise you: FILTERS!  When you search in Google and get a million results (literally a million), the best you can do is hope that Google's algorithm will steer you to something useful. But Google doesn't know you, or what you need for your research.

When you use library tools, like OneSearch or databases, you (the researcher) are in control.  Do you only want online materials? Or materials published within a certain date range? Do you want to include -- or exclude -- certain topics.  Filters help you do just that. You control how you'd like to narrow down your potential sources to help you find the *best* sources for your particular research question.

To learn more about how to use filters, Ask A Librarian

Posted Monday, November 9, 2020 - 10:00am under search, google, databases, research.

Evaluating the Quality of Publications and Conferences

The Hunter College Libraries offer this guide to assist faculty in identifying appropriate and reputable venues in which to publish or present scholarly work.  This may be helpful to faculty who have been targeted by requests to publish or present in a venue with which they are not familiar, to newer faculty, and anyone who wants to learn more about current issues regarding publication quality. The guide discusses issues related to open access publishing; factors that make some journals or publishers less credible than others; and methods for evaluating the credentials of a journal or academic conference.  We also recommend consulting guidelines for best practices within your own disciplines and professional associations.  

https://libguides.library.hunter.cuny.edu/pubqual

Posted Wednesday, September 23, 2020 - 10:48am under evaluation, publications, quality, research.

You are here