Databases

The archive's mission is to document CUNY's history from the ground up, highlighting the struggles for open admissions, tuition abolition, and the fight for a more democratic institution. The collections provide online access to historical materials, including oral history interviews and digitized primary sources. They often document significant movements and activism within CUNY. The archive is built by and for the CUNY community, which includes students, faculty staff, archivists, retirees, and alumni, all contributing to the Archive. Collections include the Oral Histories on Open Admissions and the Imposition of Tuition at CUNY, The Fight for Asian American studies at Hunter College , and Occupy CUNY.

Portal to digital content held at the nations' archives, libraries, museums and other cultural heritage organizations.

Portal to digital content held in Europe’s archives, libraries, museums and other cultural heritage organizations.

The Artstor platform is retired as of August 1, 2024. All Artstor content is now available on JSTOR. The linked text above will take you to the JSTOR Images search page.

Explore well over a million items digitized from The New York Public Library's (NYPL) collections. The collections span a wide range of historical eras, geography, and media. NYPL Digital Collections offers drawings, illuminated manuscripts, maps, atlases, photographs, posters, prints, rare, illustrated books, videos, audio, and more. Over 180,000 of the items are in the public domain.

Collection of digitized primary sources originally produced by the Race Relations Department at Fisk University. The Race Relations Department was an influential think tank offering a forum for discussion and research on racial topics. Subjects addressed include poverty and inequality, segregation, class, housing, employment, education, and government policy.

The collection includes over 100 hours of audio recordings of speeches given by prominent members of the Civil Rights movement, surveys, case studies, photographs, and scrapbooks. The physical documents were digitized from the archives of the Race Relations Department of the United Church Board for Homeland Ministries, housed at the Amistad Research Center in New Orleans.

Dates covered: 1943-1970.

Online primary source materials including manuscripts, pamphlets, books, paintings, maps, and other documents for the study of slavery, abolition, and social justice.
Bringing together primary source documents from archives and libraries across the Atlantic world, this resource allows students and researchers to explore and compare unique material relating to the complex subjects of slavery, abolition and social justice.

Includes extensive coverage of topics such as the African Coast; the Middle Passage; the varieties of slave experience (urban, domestic, industrial, farm, ranch and plantation); Spiritualism and Religion; Resistance and Revolts; the Underground Railroad; the Abolition Movement; Legislation; Education; the Legacy of Slavery and Slavery Today.

Examines the lives and works of authors and illustrators for children and young adults. The collection includes both the main series and Something About the Author Autobiography Series, totaling more than 217 volumes, 12,000 entries, and nearly 17,000 images. Entries typically cover: personal life, career, writings, works in progress, adaptations, and additional sources. A cumulative author index is included in each odd-numbered volume.