databases

Life Magazine Archive online

We now have access to the full Life Magazine archive online. Find it in our Databases list under the letter L. It includes full page scans from the magazine from 1936-2000, with all the advertisements and all context indexed and searchable. 

Visual researchers, take note! This is an excellent place for 20th Century American research.

A search for SPAM yielded this gem from 1940:

HistoryMakers Oral History Database

The Hunter College Libraries acquired a new database called The HistoryMakers (login required), "an archive of filmed oral history interviews of contemporary African Americans who have shaped modern history and made significant contributions to history, politics, education, law, arts, science, business, the military, and sports."

Artstor for Images

Do you want to employ images in your presentations? 

Do not let the name fool you, the images in Artstor extend far beyond the field of art. Studies have shown that incorporating visuals into lectures, papers, and research improves information retention and observational skills, regardless of discipline.

Check out this link for a guide to the numerous disciplines, from African American Studies to Women’s Studies, supported by the Artstor Digital Library

Streaming Videos for African American and Black History

We invite you to extend beyond a one-month celebration of Black History Month for 2021 and continue to learn more about Black and African American History. To that end, here are some online resources that are available via the Hunter College Libraries - you can access them by logging in with your Hunter College NetID and password when prompted.

Streaming Video

You can find a complete list of our video databases at this link: https://library.hunter.cuny.edu/databases/type/15