Databases

General/Interdisciplinary

  • Millions of peer-reviewed full text articles in all disciplines.

  • The most multi-disciplinary and general full-text periodicals database. Contains the full text of approx. 3,500 journals, with indexing going back to the mid 1970's on some titles. Updated daily.

  • Find references from thousands of encyclopedias, dictionaries, thesauri, subject-specific titles and multi-media sources on all subjects.

  • Portal to digital content held at the nations' archives, libraries, museums and other cultural heritage organizations.

  • A collection of over 800 journals and 6 subject specific Delmar reference titles provide robust coverage of environmental issues and policies, including diverse perspectives from the scientific community, governmental policy makers, as well as corporate interests.

  • Portal to digital content held in Europe’s archives, libraries, museums and other cultural heritage organizations.

  • Online encyclopedia with 25,000 entries.

  • Very large periodical database. Includes newspapers, journals, magazines and more, going back 30 years.

  • Google Scholar provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature. From one place, you can search across many disciplines and sources: peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, abstracts and articles, from academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories, universities and other scholarly organizations.

  • Large archive of free full text science articles from journals published online with the assistance of Highwire Press.

  • Statistical measurement of a journal's impact and influence based on citation data.

  • Full text of scholarly journals and books in arts and science, business and economics, language and literature, humanities and social sciences. Current journals are not entered into the database for two to five years.

  • Index with full text of the most important and scholarly LGBT journals, magazines and regional newspapers as well as more than 150 books.

  • General database designed for public libraries with full-text. In addition to magazines, it includes primary source documents, biographies, illustrations and reference book excerpts.

  • Every page and photograph of the National Geographic magazine from 1888-1994, fully searchable.

  • Free search tool that searches only freely accessible electronic theses and dissertations.

  • Full text of over 100 of the Oxford reference works on a variety of subjects.

  • An online collection of full text journals published by Johns Hopkins University Press and other university presses.

  • Comprehensive general index to popular general-interest periodicals published in the United States and Canada, 1890-1982.

  • Comprehensive database of general interest periodicals, 1983 to present, with full text from 1994 forward.

  • Full text of the Sage journals covering business, humanities, social sciences, science, technology and medicine.

  • Full text of the Springer journals available through the CUNY consortium, and Hunter's collection of Springer ebooks. Green icon next to title indicates that we have access to a book or journal.

  • Enormous index to scholarly journals in all disciplines. Includes Science Citation Index Expanded, Social Sciences Citation Index and Arts & Humanities Citation Index from the first issue to the present. Provides the ability to search on cited references as well as more typical search criteria.
  • Platform for the Wiley journals and ebooks to which Hunter users have access.

  • Bibliographic catalog of books, periodicals, cd-roms, videos, archival materials and photographs published worldwide.