Databases

General/Interdisciplinary

Related Databases

  • Millions of peer-reviewed full text articles in all disciplines.

  • The most multi-disciplinary and general full-text periodicals database. Contains the full text of approx. 3,500 journals, with indexing going back to the mid 1970's on some titles. Updated daily.

  • An online collection of over 3,300 fully searchable high quality ebooks in the humanities.

  • Annual Reviews in the sciences and social sciences.

  • College-level reference source of multiple medias, including definitions, pronunciations, illustrations, articles and news.

  • Whether studying to become a lawyer or law enforcement officer, paralegal, or for a career in Homeland Security, this collection rises to the challenge. Users will have access to 150 journals

  • Tables of content, abstracts and bibliographic information for the most recently published issues of leading scholarly journals and websites.

  • A single source of data discovery for the sciences, social sciences and arts and humanities.

  • Portal to digital content held at the nations' archives, libraries, museums and other cultural heritage organizations.

  • This full-text database covers the culture, traditions, social treatment and lived experiences of different ethnic groups in America. It provides full text from a growing list of sources including peer-reviewed journals, magazines, e-books, biographies and primary source documents.

  • Financial Times (FT) is an international daily newspaper. It covers many topics including management, finance, the legal industry, politics, climate change and more. Newsletters and apps are included.

    Users can sign up for their complimentary membership by visiting https://ft.com/hunter

    - Click on “Get Started.”
    - Create an account using your Hunter email address and follow the prompts.
    - Your Hunter username and password can be used for remote access and to access FT apps.

    Some “how to” videos from FT:

    How to search for content on FT.com
    How to share articles and create reading lists
    How to write a top-notch CV
    How to succeed at interviews

  • Online encyclopedia with 25,000 entries.

  • Very large periodical database. Includes newspapers, journals, magazines and more, going back 30 years.

  • Supports global awareness and perspective through international news and journal content, topics and issue pages and exclusive commentaries. Cross-searchable with Opposing Viewpoints in Context.

  • Large archive of free full text science articles from journals published online with the assistance of Highwire Press.

  • Statistical measurement of a journal's impact and influence based on citation data.

  • JSTOR provides access to more than 12 million journal articles, books, images, and primary sources in 75 disciplines. Explore a wide range of scholarly content through a powerful research and teaching platform. (Current journals are not entered into the database for two to five years.)

    * On August 1, 2024, Artstor will fully merge with JSTOR, and the Artstor platform will be retired. All Artstor content is now available on the JSTOR platform.

  • General database designed for public libraries with full-text. In addition to magazines, it includes primary source documents, biographies, illustrations and reference book excerpts.

  • Every page and photograph of the National Geographic magazine from 1888-2015, fully searchable.

  • Full text of over 100 of the Oxford reference works on a variety of subjects.

  • Major archive of backfiles of journals in the humanities and social sciences. Foundation Collections 1,2 and 3 included.

  • An online collection of full text journals published by Johns Hopkins University Press and other university presses.

  • Comprehensive general index to popular general-interest periodicals published in the United States and Canada, 1890-1982.

  • Comprehensive database of general interest periodicals, 1983 to present, with full text from 1994 forward.

  • Full text of the Sage journals covering business, humanities, social sciences, science, technology and medicine.

  • Full text of Sage reference books.

  • Full text access to the long list of Elsevier Science and Academic Ideal journals available through the CUNY consortium.

  • Full text of the Springer journals available through the CUNY consortium, and Hunter's collection of Springer ebooks. Green icon next to title indicates that we have access to a book or journal.

  • Brief, authoritative introductions to a variety of topics from Oxford University Press.

  • Enormous index to scholarly journals in all disciplines. Includes Science Citation Index Expanded, Social Sciences Citation Index and Arts & Humanities Citation Index from the first issue to the present. Provides the ability to search on cited references as well as more typical search criteria.

  • Platform for the Wiley journals and ebooks to which Hunter users have access.

  • Bibliographic catalog of books, periodicals, cd-roms, videos, archival materials and photographs published worldwide.