News

Streaming Videos for African American and Black History

We invite you to extend beyond a one-month celebration of Black History Month for 2021 and continue to learn more about Black and African American History. To that end, here are some online resources that are available via the Hunter College Libraries - you can access them by logging in with your Hunter College NetID and password when prompted.

Streaming Video

You can find a complete list of our video databases at this link: https://library.hunter.cuny.edu/databases/type/15

Claim your FREE online newspaper subscriptions!

Did you know that, as a CUNY student, you can claim your FREE online account to both The New York Times and the Wall Street Journal? Here's how to do it:

 

Claim your FREE New York Times Academic Pass with your Hunter email address today. It's good for a full year and allows you FREE online access to the New York Times. 

Visit this link to claim your pass: NYTimes.com/passes

 

Open Educational Resources (OERs)

Open Educational Resources—textbooks, courseware, and ancillary materials which can be freely used, reused, and remixed—can play an important role in pedagogy and student achievement. The Open Educational Resources (OER) LibGuide (https://libguides.library.hunter.cuny.edu/oer) provides faculty with a portal to OER resources found within Hunter, the Hunter Libraries, the CUNY system, and beyond.

Use Internet Archive for Accessing Books Online via OneSearch

Did you know that OneSearch provides direct Internet Archive links to the full content of 105,720 books owned by the Hunter College Libraries?  Search by keywords, such as author, words in title, subjects, and your results will show full text resources with “Available Online” links, like the following (image below of Internet Archive link to a book from the OneSearch screen):   

Artstor for Images

Do you want to employ images in your presentations? 

Do not let the name fool you, the images in Artstor extend far beyond the field of art. Studies have shown that incorporating visuals into lectures, papers, and research improves information retention and observational skills, regardless of discipline.

Check out this link for a guide to the numerous disciplines, from African American Studies to Women’s Studies, supported by the Artstor Digital Library

Pages