Databases

Thousands of early American serial publications collected by the American Antiquarian Society, covering 1691-1877.

Thousands of early American serial publications collected by the American Antiquarian Society, covering 1691-1877.

Full text of over 400 books plus primary sources, slave narratives, images and vetted web sites on the African American Experience.

Covering 1816-1922, newspapers, magazines, reports and annuals documenting African American religious life and culture.

Primary and secondary sources, and videos, concerning the migration of people of African descent to countries around the world from the 19th century to the present.

Chronicles the evolution of American history, culture and daily life from 1690 to 1922. It includes almost 1400 publications.
Early American newspapers, often printed by small-town printers, documented the daily life of hundreds of diverse American communities, supported different political parties and recorded both majority and minority views.

Primary source database of original fieldwork from prominent ethnographers.

These archives offer a range of content for the region, providing opportunities for research into issues and events in contemporary Latin American and Caribbean history, as well as historical perspective back to the colonial period. Coverage extends from the 15th to 20th century, providing information about the indigenous peoples of the region, the Conquest (la Conquista), colonial rule, religion, struggles for independence, and political, economic, and social progress and issues in newly independent nations.

An archive of documents chronicling the LGBTQ experience in the 2nd half of the twentieth century. It includes newsletters, newspapers and periodicals, archives from LGBTQ rights organizations worldwide, government and medical responses to the AIDS crisis and more.

This site is a curated selection of primary sources for teaching and learning about the struggles and triumphs of Black Americans from slavery and the abolitionist movement to contemporary times.

Writings, speeches, and interviews written by leaders within the black community from earliest times to 1975.

A digital library of modern international history. It includes more than 800,000 pages of original documents, produced between 1874 and 1965, ranging from Winston S. Churchill’s personal correspondence to his official exchanges with kings, presidents, politicians, and military leaders. Complementing the core content, the Churchill Archive offers a range of additional materials, including pedagogical resources and secondary materials.

Digitized documents from the NY Historical Society chronicling all aspects of the American Civil War

Congress.gov is the official website for U.S. federal legislative information. It is presented by the Library of Congress (LOC) using data from the Office of the Clerk of the U.S. House of Representatives, the Office of the Secretary of the Senate, the Government Publishing Office, Congressional Budget Office, and the LOC's Congressional Research Service.

150,000 pages of primary sources, supporting documents, and videos on the history of disability and disability studies, with emphasis on the disability rights movement.

Early English Books Online (EEBO) contains digital facsimile page images of virtually every work printed in England, Ireland, Scotland, Wales and British North America and works in English printed elsewhere from 1473-1700.

Complete facsimile edition of The Economist, fully searchable.

A vast eighteenth-century library of a fully text-searchable corpus of books, pamphlets and broadsides in all subjects printed between 1701 and 1800. (Gale Primary Sources)

Annotated collection of primary documents on British history covering 500-1914.

This full-text database covers the culture, traditions, social treatment and lived experiences of different ethnic groups in America. It provides full text from a growing list of sources including peer-reviewed journals, magazines, e-books, biographies and primary source documents.

To access, create an account using your Hunter email address.
Virtual tours of historically-accurate reconstructions of sites like ancient Rome, Greece, and Egypt.

To access create account using your Hunter College email address.
Select any collection on the Floor Plan and then any model. At the top, click on “To view the interactive 3D model, please login.”
Virtual Museum is a collection of over 750 interactive 3D models of classical sculpture digitized from museums across the US and in Europe. Each piece is a fully interactive 3D model and also includes full metadata, including the original source, supplementary materials, and dimensions. The collection includes scans of existing pieces from the site, as well as restored versions using the latest scientific research.

Gale's integrated research platform for their primary resources. It searches multiple primary source databases at once with workflow tools to analyze information.

Digitized documents from the NY Historical Society that track the activities of inhabitants, including residential and business directories, organization records and urban guidebooks.

Primary source collections currently available on JSTOR are multidisciplinary and discipline-specific and include select monographs, pamphlets, manuscripts, letters, oral histories, government documents, images, 3D models, spatial data, type specimens, drawings, paintings, and more.

LACLI Is a repository of free online e-resources with Latin American, Caribbean, U.S Latinx, and Iberian content. It is a great tool for finding a large variety of resources such as audiovisual materials, e-books, and digital primary sources. LACLI is managed by the Latin American Northeast Libraries Network (LANE).

An archive of documents chronicling the LGBTQ experience in the 2nd half of the twentieth century. It includes newsletters, newspapers and periodicals, archives from LGBTQ rights organizations worldwide, government and medical responses to the AIDS crisis and more.

Parts 1 and 2: 62,400 works tracing the development of the modern world through trade and wealth.

General database designed for public libraries with full-text. In addition to magazines, it includes primary source documents, biographies, illustrations and reference book excerpts.

The collections are available through a modular topic-specific format of archives representing the vast changes that occurred during the nineteenth century. Interdisciplinary in scope. (Gale Primary Sources)

Articles, primary sources, images, maps and charts from Oxford University Press reference sources pertaining to African-American history and culture.

Digitized orderly books from the NY Historical Socieity spanning 1748-1817

Primary and secondary sources on the history of feminism 1776-1928.

Seventeenth and Eighteenth century English news media available from the British Library. The collection includes more than 1,000 pamphlets, proclamations, newsbooks and newspapers from the period. (Gale Primary Sources)

Historical archive devoted to the scholarly study and understanding of slavery from a multinational perspective.

Collection of legal materials on slavery in the English-speaking world.

Documents pertaining to the history of women in social movements in the U.S. between 1600 and 2000.