Databases

Urban Policy and Planning

Research Guides

Recommended Databases

  • Abstracts from journal articles, legislative groups, research institutions and public agencies on all aspects of urban studies, from Sage.

  • The most multi-disciplinary and general full-text periodicals database. Contains the full text of approx. 3,500 journals, with indexing going back to the mid 1970's on some titles. Updated daily.

  • Demographic information about the United States from 1790-2018 through interactive maps and data reports.

  • NYC Open Data is a collection of data sets generated by New York City agencies and updated regularly. In addition to scholarship, data can be used inthe development of mobile applications ("apps"). Users can search for a particular data set, or browse by category.

  • Full text of the Sage journals covering business, humanities, social sciences, science, technology and medicine.

Related Databases

  • Data on population, immigration, socio-economic indicators, births and deaths and more from the 1980-2000 census, and from other federal, state and community agencies.

  • Full text database of newspapers and other news sources; legal information including U.S. Code, state laws and reviews; business news and company financial information; medical abstracts, biographical information and country and state profiles.

  • Nexis Uni features more than 15,000 news, business and legal sources from LexisNexis - including U.S. Supreme Court decisions dating back to 1790 - with an intuitive interface that offers quick discovery across all content types, personalization features such as Alerts and saved searches and a collaborative workspace with shared folders and annotated documents.

  • Wide-ranging statistical and factual information about New York City from Baruch's Weissman Center for International Business.

  • Journal articles covering applied and theoretical aspects of the social sciences; full text from 1994 forward; indexing with abstracts from 1984 forward.

  • Index to journals in the social sciences 1929-1983.

  • ProQuest’s version of the digitized federal collection of data on social and economic conditions in the U.S., current year and historical.