Databases

Theater

Recommended Databases

  • An online collection of full text journals published by Johns Hopkins University Press and other university presses.

  • JSTOR provides access to more than 12 million journal articles, books, images, and primary sources in 75 disciplines. Explore a wide range of scholarly content through a powerful research and teaching platform. (Current journals are not entered into the database for two to five years.)

    As of August 1, 2024, all image content formerly on Artstor is available on JSTOR. Select the Images tab to limit a search to images only.

  • Full text database of literary criticism, and bibliographies and biographies of major writers, with links to other web resources.

  • The most multi-disciplinary and general full-text periodicals database. Contains the full text of approx. 3,500 journals, with indexing going back to the mid 1970's on some titles. Updated daily.

Related Databases

  • An online collection of over 3,300 fully searchable high quality ebooks in the humanities.

  • 19 HD productions of Broadway and Broadway caliber productions, from Shakespeare to contemporary playwrights.

  • First published in 1902, Cambridge Histories has over 300 volumes spanning fifteen subject areas across the humanities and social sciences, with a concentration on political and cultural history, literature, philosophy, religious studies, music and the arts.

  • Portal to digital content held at the nations' archives, libraries, museums and other cultural heritage organizations.

  • Over 900 full productions and education resources directly related to the theater.

  • Gale’s integrated research platform for their literary resources. It searches multiple literature databases at once with workflow tools to analyze information.

  • Resource to worldwide content on all aspects of the humanities in more than 1,450 full-text journals back to 1907.

  • The Artstor platform is retired as of August 1, 2024. All Artstor content is now available on JSTOR. The linked text above will take you to the JSTOR Images search page.

  • More than 600 Metropolitan Opera performances.

  • Index to literary criticism and linguistic research in journals, books and dissertations worldwide from 1963 to present.

  • All of the music, dance, theater and film products from Alexander Street searchable on one platform.

  • National Theatre Collection contains 50 high-definition streaming videos of live theatre productions by the U.K.’s National Theatre, accompanied by archival materials such as prompt scripts and costume designs. It includes both productions of new works by contemporary playwrights and new productions of classic plays, including Greek theatre, works by Shakespeare, and 20th-century classics.

  • Hundreds of hours of opera performance through staged productions, interviews and documentaries.

  • All aspects of theater production design; text and instructional video.

  • Video and audio documenting contemporary theatrical performances, including excerpts from and full-length productions, masterclasses, and interviews.

  • Videos of definitive performances covering 20th century theater history.

  • Database of Shakespeare-related scholarship and theatrical productions 1960-present.