Databases

Spanish

Research Guides

Recommended Databases

  • Gale’s integrated research platform for their literary resources. It searches multiple literature databases at once with workflow tools to analyze information.

  • The site for thousands of ebooks on all topics from this vendor. It includes the collection formerly known as Ebrary Academic Collection.

  • Full text of scholarly journals and books in arts and science, business and economics, language and literature, humanities and social sciences. Current journals are not entered into the database for two to five years.

  • An online collection of full text journals published by Johns Hopkins University Press and other university presses.

  • Index to literary criticism and linguistic research in journals, books and dissertations worldwide from 1963 to present.

Related Databases

  • An online collection of over 3,300 fully searchable high quality ebooks in the humanities.

  • Multidisciplinary index to research journals in the arts and humanities, including television and radio. 1975 to present.

  • Composed of over 2.5 million images, Artstor provides faculty and students with a comprehensive image resource in a wide array of subjects with the breadth and depth to add context and examine influences beyond the confines of your discipline.

  • Fiction and poetry from the Caribbean region of the 19th and 20th centuries in the original language.

  • The online version of these Gale series from 2007 forward: Classical and Medieval Literature Criticism, Contemporary Literary Criticism, Literature Criticism 1400-1700, Nineteenth Century Literature Criticism, Poetry Criticism, Shakespearean Literature Criticism, Short Story Criticism; also Drama Criticism (all volumes).

  • Index to journal articles about Central America, South America, the Caribbean, Mexico, Brazil, and Hispanics/Latinos in the United States.

  • Indexes and abstracts to journal articles in the history of the world covering 1450 to present, excluding the United States and Canada, from journals published 1954 to present.

  • Resource to worldwide content on all aspects of the humanities in more than 1,450 full-text journals back to 1907.

  • Streaming video of Kanopy films which have been licensed for curricular support. Faculty requesting that films be added to Kanopy must use their Hunter email and list the relevant course(s). Licenses are annual so content may vary depending on the subscription period.

    *If you are having trouble streaming Kanopy films in Google Chrome, please use another browser (Firefox, Safari, Edge, Internet Explorer)

  • News source in English about Latin America, updated weekly. Subscription is to the current news bulletins and the archives.

  • Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts indexes and abstracts journals and other publications in disciplines concerned with the nature and use of language including phonetics, phonology, morphology, syntax, semantics.

  • Index to locating literature, internationally and from all time periods, with the full-text of thousands of poems, short stories, essays, speeches and plays. Also includes biographies, work summaries and a glossary.

  • Primary source documents relating to these areas, plus academic journal and news articles, references, maps, statistics, audio and video.

  • Bibliographic catalog of books, periodicals, cd-roms, videos, archival materials and photographs published worldwide.