Databases

Religion

Research Guides

Recommended Databases

  • Index compiled by the American Theological Library Association to books and periodicals covering all aspects of religion and related topics.

  • The full text of hundreds of reference books. Alternate access via CUNY login credentials

  • JSTOR provides access to more than 12 million journal articles, books, images, and primary sources in 75 disciplines. Explore a wide range of scholarly content through a powerful research and teaching platform. (Current journals are not entered into the database for two to five years.)

    As of August 1, 2024, all image content formerly on Artstor is available on JSTOR. Select the Images tab to limit a search to images only.

  • An online collection of full text journals published by Johns Hopkins University Press and other university presses.

Related Databases

  • An online collection of over 3,300 fully searchable high quality ebooks in the humanities.

  • Covering 1816-1922, newspapers, magazines, reports and annuals documenting African American religious life and culture.

  • First published in 1902, Cambridge Histories has over 300 volumes spanning fifteen subject areas across the humanities and social sciences, with a concentration on political and cultural history, literature, philosophy, religious studies, music and the arts.

  • Resource to worldwide content on all aspects of the humanities in more than 1,450 full-text journals back to 1907.

  • Over 3 million bibliographic references to journal articles and to books, reviews and selected chapters dating back to 1951. Broad coverage of international material including 100 languages and countries.

  • The Artstor platform is retired as of August 1, 2024. All Artstor content is now available on JSTOR. The linked text above will take you to the JSTOR Images search page.