Databases

Political Science

Research Guides

Recommended Databases

  • The most multi-disciplinary and general full-text periodicals database. Contains the full text of approx. 3,500 journals, with indexing going back to the mid 1970's on some titles. Updated daily.

  • Index to journals, books, proceedings and other sources on the public and social policy literature of business, economics, finance, law, international relations, public administration, government, political science and other social sciences. Archive covers 1915-1976; International covers 1977-present.

  • Abstracts and indexes the international serials literature in political science and its complementary fields including international relations, law, public administration and policy, from 1975 to present.

  • Weekly publication on current newsworthy social issues. Coverage is 1991 to present.

Related Databases

  • An online collection of over 3,300 fully searchable high quality ebooks in the humanities.

  • Index, with abstracts, to the journal literature supporting the caring profession - health, social services, psychology, sociology, economics, politics, race relations and education.

  • Historical background (text, images, video) on more than 30 key worldwide border areas.

  • Concise background information on nations, updated periodically.

  • Full-text source for theory and research in international affairs from Columbia University Press. 1991 - present; updated bi-weekly.

  • Description and analysis of the political, economic social and national security systems and institutions of over 100 countries.

  • Website of Foreign Policy magazine, which covers global affairs.

  • Government document and legal research database including U. S. statutory material, U.S Congressional documents, scholarly journals, constitutions and treatises.

  • Primary and secondary material (books, documents and video) concerning major human rights violations worldwide from 1900 to 2010.

  • Over 3 million bibliographic references to journal articles and to books, reviews and selected chapters dating back to 1951. Broad coverage of international material including 100 languages and countries.

  • Full-text articles, news feeds, reports, books and summaries covering security and threat analysis.

  • Full-text source for information on current issues, studies, thoughts and trends of the legal world with coverage back to 1908.

  • Index, with some full text and some abstracts, of hundreds of journals, magazines and pamphlets, concerning current news pertaining to the military.

  • Full text articles from magazines and newspapers representing pros and con opinions on controversial topics and current events.

  • Compilation of more than 14,000 surveys conducted by more than 700 polling organizations in the U.S. and worldwide, from 1986 on.

  • A collection of databases in the social sciences, including PAIS, Sociological Abstracts, Intl. Bibliography of the Social Sciences and more, and full text coverage of journal articles. The contents can be searched individually or as a group.

  • Journal articles covering applied and theoretical aspects of the social sciences; full text from 1994 forward; indexing with abstracts from 1984 forward.

  • Index to journals in the social sciences 1929-1983.

  • Up to date information on your city, state, and federal representatives from the League of Women Voters of the City of New York.