Databases

Playwriting

Project Muse

An online collection of full text journals published by Johns Hopkins University Press and other university presses.
JSTOR

JSTOR provides access to more than 12 million journal articles, books, images, and primary sources in 75 disciplines. Explore a wide range of scholarly content through a powerful research and teaching platform. (Current journals are not entered into the database for two to five years.)

* On August 1, 2024, Artstor will fully merge with JSTOR, and the Artstor platform will be retired. All Artstor content is now available on the JSTOR platform.
Gale Literature Resource Center

Full text database of literary criticism, and bibliographies and biographies of major writers, with links to other web resources.
Academic Search Complete

The most multi-disciplinary and general full-text periodicals database. Contains the full text of approx. 3,500 journals, with indexing going back to the mid 1970's on some titles. Updated daily.

Gale Literature

Gale’s integrated research platform for their literary resources. It searches multiple literature databases at once with workflow tools to analyze information.
Gale Literature Criticism

The online version of these Gale series from 2007 forward: Classical and Medieval Literature Criticism, Contemporary Literary Criticism, Literature Criticism 1400-1700, Nineteenth Century Literature Criticism, Poetry Criticism, Shakespearean Literature Criticism, Short Story Criticism; also Drama Criticism (all volumes).
LitFinder

Index to locating literature, internationally and from all time periods, with the full-text of thousands of poems, short stories, essays, speeches and plays. Also includes biographies, work summaries and a glossary.
MLA International Bibliography (EBSCO)

Index to literary criticism and linguistic research in journals, books and dissertations worldwide from 1963 to present.