Databases

Japanese Studies

Research Guides

Recommended Databases

  • Bibliographic catalog of books, periodicals, cd-roms, videos, archival materials and photographs published worldwide.

  • JSTOR provides access to more than 12 million journal articles, books, images, and primary sources in 75 disciplines. Explore a wide range of scholarly content through a powerful research and teaching platform. (Current journals are not entered into the database for two to five years.)

    As of August 1, 2024, all image content formerly on Artstor is available on JSTOR. Select the Images tab to limit a search to images only.

  • The most multi-disciplinary and general full-text periodicals database. Contains the full text of approx. 3,500 journals, with indexing going back to the mid 1970's on some titles. Updated daily.

Related Databases

  • The Artstor platform is retired as of August 1, 2024. All Artstor content is now available on JSTOR. The linked text above will take you to the JSTOR Images search page.

  • Gale’s integrated research platform for their literary resources. It searches multiple literature databases at once with workflow tools to analyze information.

  • Index to locating literature, internationally and from all time periods, with the full-text of thousands of poems, short stories, essays, speeches and plays. Also includes biographies, work summaries and a glossary.

  • Index to literary criticism and linguistic research in journals, books and dissertations worldwide from 1963 to present.