Databases

History - Middle East/Pacific/Asia

Research Guides

Recommended Databases

  • Indexes and abstracts to journal articles in the history of the world covering 1450 to present, excluding the United States and Canada, from journals published 1954 to present.

  • Full text of scholarly journals and books in arts and science, business and economics, language and literature, humanities and social sciences. Current journals are not entered into the database for two to five years.

  • The historical New York Times from Proquest has digitally reproduced every page from every issue of The New York Times from 1851 to 2001. The full text of the paper is completely searchable due to underlying ASCII text. The results include all graphics and links to continuations on other pages.

Related Databases

  • An online collection of over 3,300 fully searchable high quality ebooks in the humanities.

  • Composed of over 2.5 million images, Artstor provides faculty and students with a comprehensive image resource in a wide array of subjects with the breadth and depth to add context and examine influences beyond the confines of your discipline.

  • The full text of over 250 Cambridge histories.

  • Concise background information on nations, updated periodically.

  • Primary and secondary material (books, documents and video) concerning major human rights violations worldwide from 1900 to 2010.

  • Resource to worldwide content on all aspects of the humanities in more than 1,450 full-text journals back to 1907.

  • Full text of selected Oxford handbooks.

  • Journal articles covering applied and theoretical aspects of the social sciences; full text from 1994 forward; indexing with abstracts from 1984 forward.
  • Index to journals in the social sciences 1929-1983.
  • Supports world history studies through primary sources, multimedia content and reference sources. Cross-searchable with U.S. History in Context.