Databases

Thousands of early American serial publications collected by the American Antiquarian Society, covering 1691-1877.

An online collection of over 3,300 fully searchable high quality ebooks in the humanities.

Full text of over 400 books plus primary sources, slave narratives, images and vetted web sites on the African American Experience.

Covering 1816-1922, newspapers, magazines, reports and annuals documenting African American religious life and culture.

Primary and secondary sources, and videos, concerning the migration of people of African descent to countries around the world from the 19th century to the present.

Chronicles the evolution of American history, culture and daily life from 1690 to 1922. It includes almost 1400 publications.
Early American newspapers, often printed by small-town printers, documented the daily life of hundreds of diverse American communities, supported different political parties and recorded both majority and minority views.

Audio database of music from America’s past.

These archives offer a range of content for the region, providing opportunities for research into issues and events in contemporary Latin American and Caribbean history, as well as historical perspective back to the colonial period. Coverage extends from the 15th to 20th century, providing information about the indigenous peoples of the region, the Conquest (la Conquista), colonial rule, religion, struggles for independence, and political, economic, and social progress and issues in newly independent nations.

The Artstor platform is retired as of August 1, 2024. All Artstor content is now available on JSTOR. The linked text above will take you to the JSTOR Images search page.

Biographical information on over 500,000 people from antiquity to present, including full text of Current Biography.

This site is a curated selection of primary sources for teaching and learning about the struggles and triumphs of Black Americans from slavery and the abolitionist movement to contemporary times.

Writings, speeches, and interviews written by leaders within the black community from earliest times to 1975.

First published in 1902, Cambridge Histories has over 300 volumes spanning fifteen subject areas across the humanities and social sciences, with a concentration on political and cultural history, literature, philosophy, religious studies, music and the arts.

Concise background information on nations, updated periodically.

Digitized documents from the NY Historical Society chronicling all aspects of the American Civil War

Portal to digital content held at the nations' archives, libraries, museums and other cultural heritage organizations.

Digitized documents from the NY Historical Society that track the activities of inhabitants, including residential and business directories, organization records and urban guidebooks.

Index to journal articles about Central America, South America, the Caribbean, Mexico, Brazil, and Hispanics/Latinos in the United States.

Electronic version of Cambridge University Press's Historical Statistics of the United States(Millenial edition) with the ability to search, navigate, graph and download data.

Primary and secondary material (books, documents and video) concerning major human rights violations worldwide from 1900 to 2010.

Resource to worldwide content on all aspects of the humanities in more than 1,450 full-text journals back to 1907.

The collections are available through a modular topic-specific format of archives representing the vast changes that occurred during the nineteenth century. Interdisciplinary in scope. (Gale Primary Sources)

Created by John Jay faculty and students – NESRI is a searchable compilation of records that identify individual enslaved persons and enslavers in the states of New York, Maine, New Hampshire, Vermont, Massachusetts, Rhode Island, Connecticut, and New Jersey. NESRI indexes census records, slave trade transactions, cemetery records, birth certifications, manumissions, ship inventories, newspaper accounts, private narratives, legal documents, and many other sources.

Articles, primary sources, images, maps and charts from Oxford University Press reference sources pertaining to African-American history and culture.

Full text of selected Oxford handbooks.

Digitized orderly books from the NY Historical Socieity spanning 1748-1817

Primary and secondary sources on the history of feminism 1776-1928.

Historical archive devoted to the scholarly study and understanding of slavery from a multinational perspective.

Collection of legal materials on slavery in the English-speaking world.

Journal articles covering applied and theoretical aspects of the social sciences; full text from 1994 forward; indexing with abstracts from 1984 forward.

Index to journals in the social sciences 1929-1983.

Supports American history studies through periodical articles, topic and event overviews, biographies and multi-media. Cross-searchable with World History in Context.