Databases

History - Africa

Research Guides

Recommended Databases

  • Indexes and abstracts to journal articles in the history of the world covering 1450 to present, excluding the United States and Canada, from journals published 1954 to present.

  • Full text of scholarly journals and books in arts and science, business and economics, language and literature, humanities and social sciences. Current journals are not entered into the database for two to five years.

  • The full text of over 250 Cambridge histories.

  • The most multi-disciplinary and general full-text periodicals database. Contains the full text of approx. 3,500 journals, with indexing going back to the mid 1970's on some titles. Updated daily.

Related Databases

  • An online collection of over 3,300 fully searchable high quality ebooks in the humanities.

  • ARTstor is a repository of hundreds of thousands of digital images and related data.

  • Concise background information on nations, updated periodically.

  • Primary and secondary material (books, documents and video) concerning major human rights violations worldwide from 1900 to 2010.

  • Resource to worldwide content on all aspects of the humanities in more than 1,450 full-text journals back to 1907.

  • Historical archive devoted to the scholarly study and understanding of slavery from a multinational perspective.

  • Journal articles covering applied and theoretical aspects of the social sciences; full text from 1994 forward; indexing with abstracts from 1984 forward.
  • Index to journals in the social sciences 1929-1983.
  • Supports world history studies through primary sources, multimedia content and reference sources. Cross-searchable with U.S. History in Context.