Databases

Film and Media Studies

Research Guides

Recommended Databases

  • Comprehensive index to communications and mass media, formed by the merger of CommSearch and Mass Media Articles Index, plus additional material. Most citations have abstracts, and there is full text for over 200 journals.

  • The most multi-disciplinary and general full-text periodicals database. Contains the full text of approx. 3,500 journals, with indexing going back to the mid 1970's on some titles. Updated daily.

  • Comprehensive sociological research database. Indexes, abstracts and some full text of journal articles, books and conference papers, 1895 - present.

Related Databases

  • An online collection of over 3,300 fully searchable high quality ebooks in the humanities.

  • The Artstor platform is retired as of August 1, 2024. All Artstor content is now available on JSTOR. The linked text above will take you to the JSTOR Images search page.

  • Documentaries from such producers as Filmakers Library, First Run Pictures, BBS and Zeitgeist. Subjects range across the curriculum.

  • Gale’s integrated research platform for their literary resources. It searches multiple literature databases at once with workflow tools to analyze information.

  • Resource to worldwide content on all aspects of the humanities in more than 1,450 full-text journals back to 1907.

  • Streaming video of Kanopy films which have been licensed for curricular support. Faculty requesting that films be added to Kanopy must use their Hunter email and list the relevant course(s). Licenses are annual so content may vary depending on the subscription period.

    *If you are having trouble streaming Kanopy films in Google Chrome, please use another browser (Firefox, Safari, Edge, Internet Explorer)

  • A non-profit initiative dedicated to digitizing collections of classic media periodicals that belong in the public domain for full public access.

  • A collection of databases in the social sciences, including PAIS, Sociological Abstracts, Intl. Bibliography of the Social Sciences and more, and full text coverage of journal articles. The contents can be searched individually or as a group.

  • Swank Digital Campus provides streaming access to feature films and documentaries licensed for campus viewing. Content varies as licenses are annual and may be rotated.