Databases

Dance

Recommended Databases

  • An online collection of full text journals published by Johns Hopkins University Press and other university presses.

  • JSTOR provides access to more than 12 million journal articles, books, images, and primary sources in 75 disciplines. Explore a wide range of scholarly content through a powerful research and teaching platform. (Current journals are not entered into the database for two to five years.)

    As of August 1, 2024, all image content formerly on Artstor is available on JSTOR. Select the Images tab to limit a search to images only.

  • Full text database of literary criticism, and bibliographies and biographies of major writers, with links to other web resources.

  • The most multi-disciplinary and general full-text periodicals database. Contains the full text of approx. 3,500 journals, with indexing going back to the mid 1970's on some titles. Updated daily.

Related Databases

  • An online collection of over 3,300 fully searchable high quality ebooks in the humanities.

  • The Artstor platform is retired as of August 1, 2024. All Artstor content is now available on JSTOR. The linked text above will take you to the JSTOR Images search page.

  • Comprehensive video resource for the study of music. Includes 200 operas and 75 dance titles.

  • Hundreds of hours of dance productions and documentaries.

  • Full-text resource for education, containing more than 1,700 full-text journals with coverage back to 1929.

  • Gale’s integrated research platform for their literary resources. It searches multiple literature databases at once with workflow tools to analyze information.

  • Resource to worldwide content on all aspects of the humanities in more than 1,450 full-text journals back to 1907.

  • Jacob’s Pillow Dance Stream is a growing collection of full-length dance videos from the Jacob’s Pillow Archives. It includes contemporary, ballet, tap, and traditional forms of dance, as well as in-depth interviews with artists and experts in the dance field.

  • Index to literary criticism and linguistic research in journals, books and dissertations worldwide from 1963 to present.

  • All of the music, dance, theater and film products from Alexander Street searchable on one platform.

  • Index to the literature on physical education and sport, including dance, fitness, biomechanics and physical therapy.