Databases

Classical Studies

Recommended Databases

  • Indexes and abstracts to journal articles in the history of the world covering 1450 to present, excluding the United States and Canada, from journals published 1954 to present.

  • Multidisciplinary index to research journals in the arts and humanities, including television and radio. 1975 to present.

  • Full text database of literary criticism, and bibliographies and biographies of major writers, with links to other web resources.

  • Full text of over 100 of the Oxford reference works on a variety of subjects.

Related Databases

  • An online collection of over 3,300 fully searchable high quality ebooks in the humanities.

  • Composed of over 2.5 million images, Artstor provides faculty and students with a comprehensive image resource in a wide array of subjects with the breadth and depth to add context and examine influences beyond the confines of your discipline.

  • The full text of over 250 Cambridge histories.

  • Portal to digital content held at the nations' archives, libraries, museums and other cultural heritage organizations.

  • An international index to scholarly journals and collected works published in many languages on topics of classical, early Christian, Byzantine, early Medieval, and ancient Middle Eastern art and archaeology. Indexing with citations only.

  • Gale’s integrated research platform for their literary resources. It searches multiple literature databases at once with workflow tools to analyze information.

  • Resource to worldwide content on all aspects of the humanities in more than 1,450 full-text journals back to 1907.

  • Index to locating literature, internationally and from all time periods, with the full-text of thousands of poems, short stories, essays, speeches and plays. Also includes biographies, work summaries and a glossary.

  • Online version of the entire collection of Loeb Classics in print.

  • Index to literary criticism and linguistic research in journals, books and dissertations worldwide from 1963 to present.

  • Digital library of the ancient world including texts from the classical world and the renaissance.