Databases

Chemistry

Research Guides

Recommended Databases

  • Full-text of 25 journals of the American Chemical Society.

  • Full text for the RSC titles to which the CUNY participating campuses have privileges.

  • Enormous index to scholarly journals in all disciplines. Includes Science Citation Index Expanded, Social Sciences Citation Index and Arts & Humanities Citation Index from the first issue to the present. Provides the ability to search on cited references as well as more typical search criteria.
  • Index to the literature of chemistry and the electronic version of Chemical Abstracts. Before using for the first time, you must register for a SciFinder account with your Hunter College email address.

Related Databases

  • McGraw-Hill’s online resource covering all scientific disciplines. It includes the McGraw-Hill Encyclopedia of Science and Technology, plus biographies, definitions, images and videos.

  • Open access peer reviewed journal articles in chemistry.

  • Patent searching of inventions in chemical, electrical, electronic and mechanical engineering.

  • A collection of over 800 journals and 6 subject specific Delmar reference titles provide robust coverage of environmental issues and policies, including diverse perspectives from the scientific community, governmental policy makers, as well as corporate interests.

  • Users can manipulate and explore the periodic table, molecules, and other 3D models, allowing students to better visualize and understand concepts in chemistry. Reference and periodical content provide additional context for further understanding.

  • Science articles for students and the general public; full text from 1994 forward; indexing with abstracts from 1984 forward.

  • Integrates authoritative scientific reference content with headlines and videos to demonstrate how science relates to the real world. Includes images, experiments and videos.

  • Science-specific search engine created by Elsevier Scientific.