Databases

Asian American Studies

Research Guides

Recommended Databases

  • Ethnic NewsWatch is a collection of newspapers, magazines, and journals published by ethnic presses, including African, African American, Arab American, Asian American, Caribbean, Eastern European, Hispanic, Jewish, Middle Eastern, Native American, and Pacific Islander presses. These titles offer a wide variety of viewpoints not offered in the mainstream press. The collection includes over 2.5 million aricles from more than 300 publications. The majority of the articles in the collection are in English, but around 25% are in Spanish.

  • Full text of the Sage journals covering business, humanities, social sciences, science, technology and medicine.

  • The most multi-disciplinary and general full-text periodicals database. Contains the full text of approx. 3,500 journals, with indexing going back to the mid 1970's on some titles. Updated daily.

  • Comprehensive sociological research database. Indexes, abstracts and some full text of journal articles, books and conference papers, 1895 - present.

  • The historical New York Times from Proquest has digitally reproduced every page from every issue of The New York Times from 1851 to 2001. The full text of the paper is completely searchable due to underlying ASCII text. The results include all graphics and links to continuations on other pages.

Related Databases

  • An online collection of over 3,300 fully searchable high quality ebooks in the humanities.

  • Indexes and abstracts to journal articles, books and dissertations on the history of the United States and Canada. The citations are from 1964 to present, and the database is updated monthly.

  • A full-text research database covering “the culture, traditions, social treatment and lived experiences of different ethnic groups in America”— among them are Black Americans, Arab Americans, Jewish Americans, Latinx Americans, Indigenous Americans, and Asian Americans (including Chinese, Filipino, and South Asian Americans). Focus is on the United States, and most content is in English. The database includes full-text articles from thousands of ebooks,  465  journals, magazines, and newspapers as well as  primary sources.

  • The Artstor platform is retired as of August 1, 2024. All Artstor content is now available on JSTOR. The linked text above will take you to the JSTOR Images search page.

  • Index to literary criticism and linguistic research in journals, books and dissertations worldwide from 1963 to present.

  • Journal articles covering applied and theoretical aspects of the social sciences; full text from 1994 forward; indexing with abstracts from 1984 forward.

  • Index to journals in the social sciences 1929-1983.