Databases

Africana Studies

Recommended Databases

  • An online collection of full text journals published by Johns Hopkins University Press and other university presses.

  • JSTOR provides access to more than 12 million journal articles, books, images, and primary sources in 75 disciplines. Explore a wide range of scholarly content through a powerful research and teaching platform. (Current journals are not entered into the database for two to five years.)

    As of August 1, 2024, all image content formerly on Artstor is available on JSTOR. Select the Images tab to limit a search to images only.

  • Full text of over 400 books plus primary sources, slave narratives, images and vetted web sites on the African American Experience.

  • Indexes and abstracts to journal articles, books and dissertations on the history of the United States and Canada. The citations are from 1964 to present, and the database is updated monthly.

  • Writings, speeches, and interviews written by leaders within the black community from earliest times to 1975.

Related Databases

  • An online collection of over 3,300 fully searchable high quality ebooks in the humanities.

  • Covering 1816-1922, newspapers, magazines, reports and annuals documenting African American religious life and culture.

  • Primary and secondary sources, and videos, concerning the migration of people of African descent to countries around the world from the 19th century to the present.

  • Chronicles the evolution of American history, culture and daily life from 1690 to 1922. It includes almost 1400 publications.
    Early American newspapers, often printed by small-town printers, documented the daily life of hundreds of diverse American communities, supported different political parties and recorded both majority and minority views.

  • The Artstor platform is retired as of August 1, 2024. All Artstor content is now available on JSTOR. The linked text above will take you to the JSTOR Images search page.

  • This site is a curated selection of primary sources for teaching and learning about the struggles and triumphs of Black Americans from slavery and the abolitionist movement to contemporary times.

  • LACLI Is a repository of free online e-resources with Latin American, Caribbean, U.S Latinx, and Iberian content. It is a great tool for finding a large variety of resources such as audiovisual materials, e-books, and digital primary sources. LACLI is managed by the Latin American Northeast Libraries Network (LANE).

  • Index to locating literature, internationally and from all time periods, with the full-text of thousands of poems, short stories, essays, speeches and plays. Also includes biographies, work summaries and a glossary.

  • Created by John Jay faculty and students – NESRI is a searchable compilation of records that identify individual enslaved persons and enslavers in the states of New York, Maine, New Hampshire, Vermont, Massachusetts, Rhode Island, Connecticut, and New Jersey. NESRI indexes census records, slave trade transactions, cemetery records, birth certifications, manumissions, ship inventories, newspaper accounts, private narratives, legal documents, and many other sources.

  • Articles, primary sources, images, maps and charts from Oxford University Press reference sources pertaining to African-American history and culture.

    Limited to 5 simultaneous users.

  • Historical archive devoted to the scholarly study and understanding of slavery from a multinational perspective.

  • Collection of legal materials on slavery in the English-speaking world.

  • Journal articles covering applied and theoretical aspects of the social sciences; full text from 1994 forward; indexing with abstracts from 1984 forward.

  • Index to journals in the social sciences 1929-1983.