Edward Sanford Burgess

Thomas Hunter

Joseph A. Gillet

Edward Sanford Burgess

George Samler Davis

James Michael Kieran

Eugene A. Colligan

George Nauman Shuster

Eleanor Hunsdon Grady

John Meng

Mary Latimer Gambrell

Robert D. Cross

F. Joachim Weyl

Jacqueline Grennan Wexler

Joseph Shenker

Donna E. Shalala

Tilden John LeMelle

Paul LeClerc

Blanche Davis Blank

David Armand Caputo

Evangelos John Gizis

Jennifer J. Raab

Order: 2nd Acting, after Thomas Hunter

Dates: January 20, 1908 - May, 1908

Edward Sanford Burgess, a noted botanist, came to the Normal College in 1895 as Head of the Department of Biological Sciences.  Previously he had taught botany, Latin and other subjects at a number of schools on the east coast including Johns Hopkins University.  He graduated from Fredonia State Normal School (1874), Hamilton College (1879), and received his Ph.D. from Columbia University (1899).  Dr. Burroughs became Acting President upon the unexpected death of Dr. Gillet and served until Dr. Davis was installed as President on May 4, 1908.  During his short tenure, he oversaw the approval of the resolution establishing the formal 60 credits “commonly known as the four years’ college course.”