

Scene from Opera Workshop presentation

The Merry Wives at the College

On April 29 and May 1 the Hunter College Opera Workshop presented Otto Nicolai's *The Merry Wives of Windsor* in an English translation by Josef Blatt. This seldom performed opera was selected in honor of the 400th anniversary of Shakespeare's birth. The combined efforts of the Music, Art, Drama and Physical Education departments created a production that was both stylish and animated.

Hunter College Alumni are justly proud of this unique musical organization, which has continually gained in international reputation through the high level of its productions. Although the Workshop is under the auspices of the College, it is financed through private contributions to the Hunter College Opera Association, and deserves the support of the Alumni as well as the community at large.

The function of the Workshop, established in 1943, is to train already experienced singers, who come from all over the country, to interpret a variety of operatic roles. The invaluable stage experience and high level of artistic direction offered by the Workshop enables these gifted young singers to take positions in leading opera companies throughout the world. Alumni of the Workshop have appeared at the Bayreuth Festival and the Casals Festival and with such noted companies as the Chicago Lyric Opera, the San Francisco Opera Company and the Zurich State Opera, to name but a few.

The Hunter College Opera Association gives assistance to the Workshop by underwriting the costs of the annual production, providing scholarships for promising young singers, assisting young singers in moving from the Workshop into professional careers and creating an intelligent audience for opera by promoting the growth of the American lyric theater.

The Merry Wives was a happy choice because it showed to advantage the light and flexible voices of the singers. Carolyn Lockwood's vivacious and imaginative direction kept the opera moving at a rollicking pace. The orchestra under William Tarrasch, conductor and Musical Director, played with musicianship and spirit.

The young singers sang and acted with skill and charm. Joseph Fair was noteworthy as Falstaff and made this character convincing, which is a rare feat for so young a singer. Outstanding also were Rita Shane Tritter as Mrs. Alice Ford, Diana Cantani as Ann Page, Sheila Nadler as Mrs. Meg Page, and David Bender as Fenton. With the exception of Mr. Fair, a new cast performed these leading roles in the second performance. Once again the Workshop provided an evening of good music and good theater.

MARGOT COURTRIGHT SHERIDAN

Our Scholarship and Welfare Fund

Fifteen hundred contributors helped make fiscal year 1963-64 a banner year for the Scholarship and Welfare Fund. Catherine O'Hara, President, reported to members attending the annual meeting on June 3 that the Fund now has 27 name scholarships of which 17 have achieved permanent status, 20 chapter scholarships of which 2 are permanent, 38 class scholarships of which 16 have the necessary \$3000 or more for permanency, and 1 Graduate Club scholarship.

Since the time of the Alumni Luncheon in February two new name scholarships have been established—in the names of Sadie and A. L. Hayman and Rose Richman Gurenson, in memory of Mother, Bessie Richman; and two new class scholarships, 1949 and 1954, the latter joining with 1953 in the Dorothy Davis Edmonds Scholarship. The citation for establishing a permanent scholarship in memory of her husband was presented to Mrs. Herman Muehlstein, one of the Directors of the Fund.

Great interest was shown in the report that the Board had voted to establish 5 to 10 annual scholarships of \$250 each for seniors in Manhattan high schools. This was done with the hope of attracting to Hunter College a few of the students so situated financially that they do not even consider college as a possibility, even though their high scholastic standing warrants admission.

Elected to membership on the Board of Directors for the year 1964-65 were the following: Mrs. Samuel Abrams, Mrs. Sol Amster, Mrs. Dorothy Baumritter, Mrs. Alexander Berl, Miss Josephine M. Burke, Mrs. Bernard S. Deutsch, Miss Mary P. Dolciani, Miss Ina H. Friedel-son, Mrs. Joseph Golomb, Miss Vera J. Gordon, Mrs. Louis Kleinfeld, Miss Isabelle A. Krey, Mrs. Jacob Larus, Miss Lillian Leight, Mrs. Karl Leubsdorf, Miss Isabel C. McLaughlin, Miss Ray Miller, Mrs. Herman Muehlstein, Miss Peggyann Murphy, Miss Catherine F. O'Hara, Mrs. Sylvester Rothschild, Mrs. Jacob Schechter, Mrs. Louis Sigler, Mrs. Aaron Zanger, Mrs. Jack Zuckerman.

The past presidents of the Fund are permanent Directors: Mrs. Samuel Bitterman, Mrs. Leo Cherne, and Mrs. Seymour Thaler.

After the annual meeting, the following officers were reelected for the next year: Miss O'Hara, President; Mrs. Golomb, Vice-President; Miss McLaughlin, Treasurer; Miss Krey, Assistant Treasurer; Mrs. Larus, Corresponding Secretary; Mrs. Leubsdorf, Recording Secretary.

Quoting from Professor Cone's "The Good Ship Alma Mater" — that graduation song now so little known to graduates and undergraduates alike — we can say,

We're hopeful for the future; We're grateful for the past.