Officers of the Nu Chapter of Phi Beta Kappa serve for three years; from 1961-1964 they have been: Beatrice F. Hyslop (Department of History), President; Carolyn Eisele (Mathematics), Vice-President; Virginia Staudt Sexton (Psychology), Recording Secretary; Roslyn Hayes (Psychology), Secretary-Treasurer; Ruth Walker (Chemistry) and Dorothy Naiman (Physiology), Council Members at Large.

The new officers elected in May to serve until 1967 are: Carolyn Eisele, President; Virginia Staudt Sexton, Vice-President; Nathan Stoller (Education), Recording Secretary; Calvin Edwards (English), Secretary-Treasurer; David Gordon (English), Assistant Secretary-Treasurer; Dorothy Lampen (Economics) and Ralph L. Ward (Classics), Council Members.

During the last three years the Phi Beta Kappa membership on both campuses has been drawn together, and a wider participation in the activities of Nu Chapter has been elicited. As the older members of the Faculty retire the newer younger members must participate, and there are hopeful signs of cooperative effort for the next triennium, 1964-67.

Today, about 125 members of the Hunter College faculty and staff and about seven hundred alumnae and alumni members form the active list of Nu Chapter members. All those who were elected as undergraduates—many more than seven hundred since 1920—may maintain their ties with Nu Chapter by paying annual dues of \$1.00. Every Phi Beta Kappa graduate of Hunter is cordially invited to affiliate with Nu Chapter by writing to the new Secretary-Treasurer, Calvin Edwards, at 695 Park Avenue.

A note on the outgoing and incoming Presidents of Nu Chapter.

BEATRICE F. HYSLOP

Professor Beatrice Hyslop, a distinguished member of the History Department at Hunter, joined the Faculty in 1936. She has been cited as a Chevalier of the Legion of Honor by the French Government which has also published two books by her—Répertoire critique des cahiers de doleances de 1789 and Supplement au repertoire critique des cahiers de doleances de 1789. Two other books, French Nationalism in 1789 and A Guide to the General Cahiers of 1789, were published by Columbia University Press. She has also published numerous articles and book reviews.

After graduating from Mount Holyoke she studied at Columbia where she got her Ph.D. Holyoke later gave the D. Litt. degree in recognition of her contribution to historical studies. She has twice had Fulbright Awards for study in France as well as a grant from the American Philosophical Society. Currently she is working on a manuscript to be published, with a grant from France.

CAROLYN EISELE

On May 11, 1964, Carolyn Eisele '23, associate professor of Mathematics, was elected president of Nu Chapter of Phi Beta Kappa at Hunter, for a three-year term. She had been vice-president of the Chapter since 1961.

Carolyn has gained renown for her work in the history of science and mathematics. This spring she received two research grants, one for \$1000 from the American Philosophical Society (which had given her a grant some years ago) and one for \$12,600 from the National Science Foundation. These awards will enable her to edit several still unpublished mathematics manuscripts by Charles S. Peirce, and to continue her work on her book on Peirce as mathematician.

In numerous articles on aspects of Peirce's work she has demonstrated this great American philosopher's range of thought and accomplishment in the fields of logic and mathematics, and in the history of science. In other articles and published studies she has thown light on various developments in the history of science and mathematics.

Since 1961 she has been chairman of the national Screening Committee, under the Fulbright-Hays Act, which reviews applications for university-lecturing and post-doctoral research awards in the history of science. Carolyn was one of the founders of the New York Section of the History of Science Society. and its chairman, 1959-1963.

GUGGENHEIM FELLOW

Irving Howe, Professor of English in the Graduate Division of the City University (see Spring 1964 issue of the *Quarterly*) has received a John Guggenheim Memorial Foundation Fellowship for the year 1964-65 for a study of the idea of modernism in European and American literature during the past hundred years.

Professor Howe was born in New York in 1920 and was graduated from the City College of New York. He was the first winner of the Kenyon Review Fellowship for Literary Criticism in 1953, held the Christian Gauss Seminar Chair at Princeton University in 1954, and has since been awarded the Bollingen Foundation Fellowship, the Longview Foundation Prize for Literary Criticism and the National Institute of Arts and Letters Award.

Among the books he has written are Sherwood Anderson: A Critical Biography, William Faulkner: A Critical Study and Politics and the Novel. His most recent book, A World More Attractive, was published last year.

Professor Howe is a regular contributor to *Partisan Review*, the *New York Times Book Review*, is editor of *Dissent* and a contributing editor for *The New Republic*.

(See page 15 for story of another Guggenheim Fellow.)