## THE ALUMNÆ NEWS

Published Monthly by the Associate Alumnae of Hunter College of the City of New York Entered as second class matter, 1895, at the post-office at New Rochelle under the Act of March 3, 1879.

VOL. XL.

NEW ROCHELLE, N.Y., APRIL, 1935

No. 4

## COLLEGE NOTES

A new plan of Student Self Government, approved by the faculty of Hunter College, has been presented to the Student Council.

The new system centralizes in the Student Council the powers of the Student Self-Government Association. Under it, the Student Council will have power to grant charters to all extra-curricular organizations, such as clubs and publications. Editors of all publications will be elected by the Student Council from a list of candidates presented by the group concerned. Provision is also made for additional nominations of qualified students from the floor.

The Student Council will have power to revoke charters, remove officers or agents, and appoint successors whenever need arises.

Since the By-Laws of the Board of Higher Education place upon the faculty the responsibility for the conduct of all student activities, all student activities will have faculty advisers, chosen by the President of the College. Student organizations have the privilege of presenting a list of names for these posts to the President.

A new Faculty Committee on Student Relations is to be established. This committee will report periodically to the faculty on the state or progress of extra-curricular activities and student affairs. All charters and constitutions, and all amendments to the constitution of the Student Self-Government Association, or to its by-laws, after ratification by the Student Council, must be endorsed by this committee before they are in force.

Under the new plan all student activities, organizations, productions, and publications are to be self-supporting. The present Student Association Budget fee is to be discontinued, and in its stead each student will be asked to contribute a fee of 25c per semester to the Student Council.

The proposed plan provides that all students shall enjoy the privilege of voting in all class and Student Association elections. A fixed minimum of the student body must vote for the officers of the S. S. G. A., and also of the members of a class for class officers, if an election is to be valid. A candidate must poll a majority of the votes cast in order to be elected.

In addition to the present legislative and executive branches of the Student Self-Government Association, a third branch, to be called the Judicial Board, is to be set up. This Board will have power to consider infractions of student behavior in connection with matters over which the Association has jurisdiction, and may impose such penalties as, in its judgment, will maintain the honor of the student body and the high standing of the College. The Judicial Board will comprise: a Chief Justice, to be elected at the same time as the President and the Vice-President of the Student Self-Government Association, in the same manner and with the same eligibility requirements; members of the student body; and two representatives of the teaching staff chosen by the President of the College.

The members of the staff of the English Department entertained at tea in honor of Professor Blanche Colton Williams at the Women's University Club on Friday, March first.

This occasion marked the twenty-fifth anniversary of Dr. Williams's appointment as a teacher of English at Hunter. In 1926, after sixteen years of distinguished service to the College, she was made head of the English Department.

The members of the committee for the tea were Professor Marjorie Anderson, Chairman; Professor Emma K. Temple, Professor Renata Remy, Professor Mary Wyman, Miss Jean S. Lindsay, Miss Claire Mc-Glinchee, and Miss Isabel Walker.

Professor Dora D. Farrington, Professor Emma G. M. McCague, Professor Dorothea C. Hess, and Professor Elizabeth B. Collier presided at the tea-table.

Miss Jessie C. Bush, Secretary of the College and of the Board of Trustees, was the guest of honor at a tea given by the Faculty Club on Tuesday, March 12. Among the guests were President Eugene

Among the guests were President Eugene A. Colligan and Mrs. Colligan; Dean Hannah M. Egan; President Emeritus James M. Kieran; Dean Emeritus Annie H. Mills; Mr. Ernest Carson Hunt and Mrs. Hunt.

Dean Hannah M. Egan entertained the members of the Student Council at a tea in her office on Friday, March 15.

The guests of honor were the members of the Faculty Committee on Student Activities: Professor Lao G. Simons, Professor Joseph Cummings Chase, Professor Philip R. V. Curoe, Professor Frances McRae, Professor E. Adelaide Hahn, Professor Agnes M. Small, and Miss Anna Michels.

K. M. LAVELL.

## CALENDAR

Wed.,	May	1-Officers and Directors
Fri.,	May	3—College Sing
Sat.,	May	4-Card Party
Wed.,	May	8—Executive Council
Sat.,	May	18-Reunion, Election
Sat.,	May	18-Dance and Theater Party

Wed., June 19--Commencement