Virtual Library Day 2020

This year, as the college transitioned to remote instruction in March, the Hunter College Libraries staff and faculty worked tirelessly to provide access to our resources and services while working from home. Instead of our in-person Library Day celebration, we decided to provide space for our staff and faculty to call each other out for the good work we have all been doing - much of which is invisible to the end-user.

The Libraries' User Experience & Outreach Committee asked library staff and faculty to submit individuals, groups, or library units to be called out here for their good work. You can read all about it here:

We also decided to continue the LeClerc Competition for Best Research Papers in order to honor the excellent work done by our students. The contest winners are included at the link above and listed here as well. A huge thank you goes to Web & Digital Initiatives Librarian/Assistant Professor Iris Finkel for her work coordinating this contest each year.

Winners of the 27th Annual Paul LeClerc Competition for Best Research Papers

100-Level Undergraduate Winners

1st Place: Guadalupe Calotl

"How Does Environmental Racism Target Communities of Color and Low-Income in the South Bronx?"

ENG 120, Fall 2019, Professor Kombiyil


2nd Place: Neha Rahman

"How Do Undocumented Immigrants Contribute to the U.S. Economy?"

ENG 120, Spring 2019, Professor Coleman


Upper-Level Undergraduate Winners

1st Place: Alexis Paulin-Edwards

"Black Women's Linked Fate: Intersectional Descriptive Representation and Black Female Efforts to Resist Marginalization"

POLSC 317, Spring 2019, Professor Tien


2nd Place: Daniela Shill

"The Rise, Fall, and Future of Deferred Maintenance"

MHC 250, Spring 2019, Professor Gutfreund


Graduate-level Winners

1st Place: Rose Bishop

"Research Methods: Robert Rauschenberg"

ARTH 602, Fall 2019, Professor Lobel


2nd Place: Rachel High

"Harry N. Abrams, Collector and Publisher"

ARTH 780, Spring 2019, Professor Lobel


The User Experience & Outreach Committee is: Iris Finkel, Ann Thompson, Steven Kowalik, Adina Mulliken, Jennifer Newman, John Pell, Stefan Kuss, Kadri Brogi, and Sarah Ward

Hunter College Libraries 2020 Virtual Library Day

Add new comment