NORMAL COLLEGE CITY OF NEWYORK

Thirty-Ninth Annual

COMMENCEMENT 1908

NORMAL COLLEGE OF THE CITY OF NEW YORK



Thirty-ninth Annual Commencement Thursday, June 25, 1908

HON. EGERTON L. WINTHROP. JR.

Chairman of the Board of Trustees

A. EMERSON PALMER

Secretary of the Board of Trustees

GEORGE S. DAVIS, LL. D.

President

THOMAS HUNTER, LL. D. President Emeritus

Executive Committee

HENRY H. SHERMAN, Chairman

Nicholas J. Barrett Horace E. Dresser George J. Gillespie Alrick H. Man Frederic R. Coudert Robert L. Harrison M. Samuel Stern George S. Davis *Ex-Officio*

Egerton L. Winthrop, Jr. Ex-Officio

CLASS OF 1908

PROGRAMME

I.	Music-March	5	-		83	5	Wagner
II.	Prayer -	5 - -		- Rev.	Cliffe	ord S	Gregg
III.	Address -	- 1		Presiden	t of the E	Board o	irop, Jr. f Education of Trustees
IV.	Music					1000 - 100 - 100 - 100	Grell
v.	SALUTATORY	-	-	- Fra	ances 1	Ackle	y Grant
VI.	Address -	-	-				Sh <i>erman</i> e Committee
VII.	VII. Award of Medals and Prizes						
		-		Thom			, LL.D. nt Emeritus
VIII.	Music	2	- 4	2012	1994 1994 - Sant		Mopsa
	Words from th	he Gree	k by T	homas Mo	ore		
	Solo	14 <u>1</u> -14-14	201	- Mi	ss Ma	rie C	aglieris
Music co	mposed by Miss May		isey, a s of 19		the Mu	sical C	omposition
IX.	Award of Dipi	OMA	s	George	s. D	avis,	LL.D. President

X. ADDRESS TO GRADUATES - John Greene, L.H.D. Member of the Board of Trustees

XI. COLLEGE SONG—"The Good Ship Alma Mater" G. Mangold

Words by Helen Gray Cone, Class of '76

The good ship Alma Mater rides at anchor in the bay, With all her colors flying in the summer wind to-day; For years she stoutly bore us, but now the ocean's past, And in the hoped-for haven she has landed us at last.

O good ship Alma Mater, we bid farewell to thee; Stand stately in the harbor, ride queen-like on the sea! May never storm come nigh thee, may never tempest make Thy mighty masts to quiver, thine oaken sides to shake.

O you who sailed before us in the good ship long ago, We follow'd where you led us, stars above and sea below! You led us like a beacon that lit the seething foam, You led us like the glitter of a star that pointed home.

O you who shall come after, we give you all God-speed! Stand by the Alma Mater and serve her at her need; Till you, too, pass the billows that hold you from the shore, Till you, too, ride at anchor, and plough the waves no more.

O good ship Alma Mater, a long farewell at last! We're hopeful for the future, we're grateful for the past; Sail on thro' sunny waters; with more than lips can tell Of sorrow at our parting, we speak the last farewell.

XII. VALEDICTORY - Ruth Hungerford Cleaveland

XIII. Music-"America"

CLASS HONORS

DEPARTMENT OF GERMAN

Major Courses ADOLPH KUTROFF PRIZE—\$50 For Best Quality of College Work ROSE LEVENSOHN

OTTENDORFER GOLD MEDAL

For Proficiency in both High School and College ERNA BIENECK

Minor Courses First Prize ALBERT TAG PRIZE—\$50 -KATHRIN KILBOURNE TOMPKINS

Second Prize

OTTENDORFER SILVER MEDAL MARIE ADELINE PIQUION Honorable Mention: Lucille Ballard Drescher

HERMAN RIDDER PRIZE-\$40 For Best German Essay DIVIDED EQUALLY BETWEEN ROSE LEVENSOHN AND ERNA BIENECK

DEPARTMENT OF FRENCH

For Greatest Progress FRENCH CHAMBER OF COMMERCE PRIZE-\$40 DIVIDED EQUALLY BETWEEN MAY ROTHWELL AND IDA HAGGSTROM Honorable Mention: Rose Fitzsimmons and Nellie Ryan

> For Greatest Progress in French First Prize WILLIAM WOOD MEMORIAL PRIZE—\$40 MARIE ADELINE PIQUION

Second Prize HENRI MAILLARD PRIZE—GOLD WATCH ROSE LEVENSOHN

DEPARTMENT OF PEDAGOGY

For Pedagogics KELLY SILVER MEDAL RUTH HUNGERFORD CLEAVELAND

> KELLY BRONZE MEDAL FRANCES ACKLEY GRANT

DEPARTMENT OF NATURAL SCIENCE

KANE GOLD MEDAL

AWARDED TO THE STUDENT HAVING THE HIGHEST RECORD IN THE NATURAL SCIENCE SUBJECTS

> FREDA ALZENA STARKWEATHER Honorable Mention: Deborah Vera Sabsovich

DEPARTMENT OF LATIN

WILSON G. HUNT GOLD MEDAL For the Best Examination on the work of the Senior Year RUTH HUNGERFORD CLEAVELAND Honorable Mention: M. MURIEL ROCHESTER, M. NELLIE REEVES

DEPARTMENT OF ENGLISH

For English Literature RANDOLPH GUGGENHEIMER MEMORIAL PRIZE GOLD WATCH KATHRIN KILBOURNE TOMPKINS

For English Composition BERNARD COHEN PRIZE—\$40 KATURIN KILBOURNE TOMPKINS Honorable Mention: GRACE CRYSTAL, EDNA P. KRAMER

For Elocution ARTHUR H. DUNDON MEMORIAL PRIZE—\$25 CLARA M. SHERMAN Honorable Mention: RUBY CROHN

DEPARTMENT OF MATHEMATICS

JOSEPH A. GILLET PRIZE PAULA JACOBSON Honorable Mention: Frances Ackley Grant

8

DEPARTMENT OF MUSIC

For Proficiency in Music LIBBIE VAN ARSDALE MEMORIAL PRIZE—\$40 RUTH HUNGERFORD CLEAVELAND Honorable Mention: Blanche Goldstein, May Morrisey

For Musical Composition GEORGE MANGOLD MEMORIAL PRIZE—\$25 MAY MORRISEY

Honorable Mention: Ruth Hungerford Cleaveland, Blanche Goldstein

DEPARTMENT OF HISTORY

CHARLES H. KNOX PRIZE—\$50 For Work in the Department of History HARRIET L. WOODALL

THE THOMAS HUNTER PRIZE-\$40

OFFERED BY THE ASSOCIATE ALUMNÆ OF THE NORMAL COLLEGE For Proficiency in History SOPHIA E. LITTLE

Honorable Mention: M. GLADYS KRAMER

DR. THOMAS HUNTER PRIZE—\$40 For Regularity and Punctuality of Attendance EMMA LOUISE BECK

Honorable Mention: FRANCES ACKLEY GRANT, CLARA DAUGHERTY

HONOR STUDENTS

Ruth Hungerford Cleaveland Frances Ackley Grant Mary Alice Morris Mary Catherine Haage Kathrin Kilbourne Tompkins Rose Levensohn M. Muriel Rochester Rosa Margaret Völker

THE DEGREE OF BACHELOR OF ARTS IS CONFERRED UPON THE FOLLOWING YOUNG WOMEN

Seven Years' Course

BIENECK. ERNA CLARK, FRANCES BRADLEY CLEAVELAND, RUTH HUNGERFORD DAUGHERTY, CLARA EMANUEL, MARY FAGAN, MARY C. FISCHER, M. LOUISE GOLDSTEIN, BLANCHE GONZALES, PAULINE E. GUERRA, FRANCES GOODHART, SARAH M. GRANT, FRANCES A. HAAGE, MARY C. HAKE, BERNARDINE P. HAMMER. ANNA M. HOKE, CALM M. HUENE, AMELIA H. HYNES, GRACE K. **JACOBSON**, ANNA JACOBSON, PAULA

KESSLER, PAULINE F. LAPIN, ROSE LARRY, EVA M. LEVENSOHN, ROSE LEVY, EDNA A. MORRIS. MARY A. MORRISEY, MAY J. MUFSON, MOLLIE E. PIQUION, MARIE A. REEVES, M. NELLIE ROCHESTER, M. MURIEL RUBENSTEIN, ROSE SABSOVICH, DEBORAH VERA SPAETZEL, FLORENCE K. STARKWEATHER, FREDA ALZENA TICE, SARAH M. TOMPKINS, KATHRIN KILBOURNE VÖLKER, ROSA M. VAN SICLEN, LILIAN K. WESSEL. EDNA YOUNG, DOROTHY K. YOUNG, SUSAN S.

Six Years' Course

Aigeltinger, Minnie E. Bartley, Marcella A. BECK, EMMA L. BEMAK, BLANCHE BUTT, GERTRUDE A. CARSLISLE, MARY LOUISE CASHMAN, EILEEN I. CELLER, LOUISE CHAMBERS, MADELINE E. COUGHLAN, ANNA A. DONLON, IRENE A. DRESCHER, LUCILLE FISCHHOFER, MIDA EDITH FITZSIMMONS, ROSE G. GOGGIN, LUCY M. G. GOTTLIEB, JENNIE HAGGSTROM, IDA OLIVIA HAYES, ANNETTE M. HERZ, JULIET MCELARNEY, MARY B. MCPARTLAND, GERTRUDE MARIE MEANY, KATHERINE F. NEAREY, ISMAY V. RAPPAPORT, ESTELLE A. REIBETANZ, SOPHIE ROTHWELL, MAY R. RYAN, NELLIE PATRICIA SAUNDERS, GERTRUDE SCHWARZ, ELIZABETH A. VAN SCHAICK, CECILIA GENEVIEVE

13

THE FOLLOWING NAMED YOUNG WOMEN ARE GRANTED REGULAR KINDERGARTEN DIPLOMAS REPRESENTING A FULL TWO YEARS' COURSE

ANDREWS. EDITH H. BEBEE, CHARLOTTE T. CARR, ELSIE M. DOYLE, AGNES DWYER, EILEEN M. FAY, CLARA GENEVIEVE GLEASON, SARAH FRANCES GORMLEY, C. GRACE HAGEMANN, MINNIE ELIZABETH HART. LILLIAN CONSTANCE Heller, Gertrude Charlotte LACHMUND, EUGENIA DREWS McDonald, Maida PACKER, IRENE LOUISE PHILLIPS, ADA ELIZABETH SAUTER, EVA B. SCHUSTER, ELSIE E. WERTHEIMER, LEAH ZAISER, EMILY HELEN

A CERTIFICATE REPRESENTING ONE YEAR'S WORK IS GRANTED TO

MARY CHANG