Search:


Databases

Anthropology

Recommended Databases

  • The most multi-disciplinary and general full-text periodicals database. Contains the full text of approx. 3,500 journals, with indexing going back to the mid 1970's on some titles. Updated daily.

  • Combined indexes on anthropology, archaeology and related interdisciplinary research from Harvard's Tozzer Library and the Royal Anthropological Institute.

    User Limit: 4
  • Streaming video of classic and contemporary ethnographic documentaries.

  • Enormous index to scholarly journals in all disciplines. Includes Science Citation Index Expanded, Social Sciences Citation Index and Arts & Humanities Citation Index from the first issue to the present. Provides the ability to search on cited references as well as more typical search criteria.

  • Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts indexes and abstracts journals and other publications in disciplines concerned with the nature and use of language including phonetics, phonology, morphology, syntax, semantics.

Related Databases

  • An online collection of over 3,300 fully searchable high quality ebooks in the humanities.

  • Important texts in anthropology including ethnographies, field notes, memoirs and previously unpublished material from archives.

  • ARTstor is a repository of hundreds of thousands of digital images and related data.

  • Online resource to music research of all the world’s peoples.

  • A collection of databases in the social sciences, including PAIS, Sociological Abstracts, Intl. Bibliography of the Social Sciences and more, and full text coverage of journal articles. The contents can be searched individually or as a group.

  • An aural encyclopedia of the world’s music traditions, produced in partnership with Smithsonian Folkways Recordings.

  • Journal articles covering applied and theoretical aspects of the social sciences; full text from 1994 forward; indexing with abstracts from 1984 forward.

  • Index to journals in the social sciences 1929-1983.

feedback