Search:


Databases

Social Work

Recommended Databases

  • Continuously updated version of the Encyclopedia of Social Work.

  • Indexes and abstracts journal articles and book chapters in the field of psychology, 1887 to present. Has links to the full text of PsychArticles.

  • A collection of databases in the social sciences, including PAIS, Sociological Abstracts, Intl. Bibliography of the Social Sciences and more, and full text coverage of journal articles. The contents can be searched individually or as a group.

  • 595 datasets containing over 14 billion data points from licensed and public domain datasets.

  • Full text articles from magazines and newspapers representing pros and con opinions on controversial topics and current events.

Related Databases

  • Federal statistics about crime. Has links to FBI Uniform Crime Reports and Sourcebook of Criminal Justice Statistics.

  • Streaming videos to support social work, psychotherapy, psychiatry and counseling.

  • The online version of DSM V and IV.

  • Bibliographic database of information on behavioral measurement instruments.

  • Data on population, immigration, socio-economic indicators, births and deaths and more from the 1980-2000 census, and from other federal, state and community agencies.

  • Index to journals, books, proceedings and other sources on the public and social policy literature of business, economics, finance, law, international relations, public administration, government, political science and other social sciences. Archive covers 1915-1976; International covers 1977-present.

  • Full text articles from 42 journals published by the American Psychological Association and allied organizations, from 1985 to present.

  • Full text of APA ebooks published 2008 – 2013.

  • Full text access to the long list of Elsevier Science and Academic Ideal journals available through the CUNY consortium.

  • Journal articles covering applied and theoretical aspects of the social sciences; full text from 1994 forward; indexing with abstracts from 1984 forward.

  • Index to journals in the social sciences 1929-1983.

  • The National Association of Social Workers’s bibliography of social work and related literature, from 1977 to present.

  • Comprehensive sociological research database. Indexes, abstracts and some full text of journal articles, books and conference papers, 1895 - present.

  • Index of and abstracts to the international literature of sociology and related disciplines.