Search:


Databases

Social Research

Recommended Databases

  • Demographic information about the United States from 1790-2000 through interactive maps and data reports.

  • Data on population, immigration, socio-economic indicators, births and deaths and more from the 1980-2000 census, and from other federal, state and community agencies.

  • Population, housing, economic and geographic data from the Census Bureau.

  • The search engine for finding statistics from over 100 federal agencies.

  • The Inter-university Consortium for Political and Social Research maintains an archive of social science data available in a collection of machine readable data files.

Related Databases

  • The definitive, searchable database of the thousands of Gallup Polls conducted from 1935 to today. Search questions, results, specific surveys, and associated articles.

  • Bibliographic database of information on behavioral measurement instruments.

  • Compilation of more than 14,000 surveys conducted by more than 700 polling organizations in the U.S. and worldwide, from 1986 on.

  • A collection of databases in the social sciences, including PAIS, Sociological Abstracts, Intl. Bibliography of the Social Sciences and more, and full text coverage of journal articles. The contents can be searched individually or as a group.

  • Journal articles covering applied and theoretical aspects of the social sciences; full text from 1994 forward; indexing with abstracts from 1984 forward.

  • Index to journals in the social sciences 1929-1983.

  • Comprehensive sociological research database. Indexes, abstracts and some full text of journal articles, books and conference papers, 1895 - present.

  • Index of and abstracts to the international literature of sociology and related disciplines.

  • Guide to WHO’s health related information including health-related statistics.