Search:


Databases

English

Recommended Databases

  • Index to literary criticism and linguistic research in journals, books and dissertations worldwide from 1963 to present.

  • An online collection of full text journals published by Johns Hopkins University Press and other university presses.

  • Full text of scholarly journals in arts and science, business and economics, language and literature, humanities, and social sciences. Current journals are not entered into the database for 2 to 5 years. Searchable by topic or by journal name.

  • Full text database of literary criticism, and bibliographies and biographies of major writers, with links to other web resources.

  • The most multi-disciplinary and general full-text periodicals database. Contains the full text of approx. 3,500 journals, with indexing going back to the mid 1970's on some titles. Updated daily.

Related Databases

  • Parts 1 and 2: Over 200,000 volumes of works published in the UK and elsewhere during the 18th Century.

  • Gale's integrated research platform for their primary resources. It searches multiple primary source databases at once with workflow tools to analyze information.

  • Vast archive of books, newspapers, diaries, photographs, sheet music, maps, pamphlets and more documenting the 19th Century.

  • Gale's integrated research platform for their primary resources. It searches multiple primary source databases at once with workflow tools to analyze information.

  • An online collection of over 3,300 fully searchable high quality ebooks in the humanities.

  • Gale’s integrated research platform for their literary resources. It searches multiple literature databases at once with workflow tools to analyze information.

  • Gale's integrated research platform for their primary resources. It searches multiple primary source databases at once with workflow tools to analyze information.

  • The full text of over 250 Cambridge histories.

  • The source for locating a poem in anthologies; contains full-text public domain poems, commentary and biographies.

  • An index to essays and articles in collections and miscellaneous works from 1985 to present.

  • An index to essays and articles in collections and miscellaneous works from 1900 to 1983.

  • Gale’s integrated research platform for their literary resources. It searches multiple literature databases at once with workflow tools to analyze information.

  • Gale's integrated research platform for their primary resources. It searches multiple primary source databases at once with workflow tools to analyze information.

  • Resource to worldwide content on all aspects of the humanities in more than 1,450 full-text journals back to 1907.

  • Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts indexes and abstracts journals and other publications in disciplines concerned with the nature and use of language including phonetics, phonology, morphology, syntax, semantics.

  • The online version of these Gale series from 2007 forward: Classical and Medieval Literature Criticism, Contemporary Literary Criticism, Literature Criticism 1400-1700, Nineteenth Century Literature Criticism, Poetry Criticism, Shakespearean Literature Criticism, Short Story Criticism; also Drama Criticism (all volumes).

  • Gale’s integrated research platform for their literary resources. It searches multiple literature databases at once with workflow tools to analyze information.

  • Gale’s integrated research platform for their literary resources. It searches multiple literature databases at once with workflow tools to analyze information.

  • The full text of poems, short stories, essays, speeches, plays and novels, plus citations and excerpts, biographies, work summaries, photos and a glossary.

  • Gale’s integrated research platform for their literary resources. It searches multiple literature databases at once with workflow tools to analyze information.

  • Articles, primary sources, images, maps and charts from Oxford University Press reference sources pertaining to African-American history and culture.

  • Full text, fully searchable version of the OED, with 1000 new entries, updated quarterly.

  • Full text literary criticism and interpretation.

  • Gale’s integrated research platform for their literary resources. It searches multiple literature databases at once with workflow tools to analyze information.