Search:


Databases

Africana Studies

Recommended Databases

  • An online collection of full text journals published by Johns Hopkins University Press and other university presses.

  • Full text of scholarly journals in arts and science, business and economics, language and literature, humanities, and social sciences. Current journals are not entered into the database for 2 to 5 years. Searchable by topic or by journal name.

  • Full text of over 400 books plus primary sources, slave narratives, images and vetted web sites on the African American Experience

  • Indexes and abstracts to journal articles, books and dissertations on the history of the United States and Canada. The citations are from 1964 to present, and the database is updated monthly.

  • Writings, speeches, and interviews written by leaders within the black community from earliest times to 1975.

Related Databases

  • An online collection of over 3,300 fully searchable high quality ebooks in the humanities.

  • ARTstor is a repository of hundreds of thousands of digital images and related data.

  • Articles, primary sources, images, maps and charts from Oxford University Press reference sources pertaining to African-American history and culture.

  • Historical archive devoted to the scholarly study and understanding of slavery from a multinational perspective.

  • Journal articles covering applied and theoretical aspects of the social sciences; full text from 1994 forward; indexing with abstracts from 1984 forward.

  • Index to journals in the social sciences 1929-1983.