Search:


Databases

Art History and Studio

Research Guides

Recommended Databases

  • The electronic version of Grove's multi-volume art encyclopedia and other Oxford art reference works, with hyperlinks.

  • ARTstor is a repository of hundreds of thousands of digital images and related data.

  • Full text of scholarly journals in arts and science, business and economics, language and literature, humanities, and social sciences. Current journals are not entered into the database for 2 to 5 years. Searchable by topic or by journal name.

  • An online collection of full text journals published by Johns Hopkins University Press and other university presses.

  • The Bibliography of the History of Art (BHA) is the world's most comprehensive bibliography of scholarly writing about the history of European and American visual arts from late antiquity to the present. This database indexes and abstracts art-related books, conference proceedings and dissertations, exhibition and dealers' catalogs, and articles from over 4,300 periodicals. Available on the Getty Website from April 1, 2010, it includes BHA records from 1990-2007. Starting 5/1/2010 it will include records from RILA covering 1975-1989.

Related Databases

  • An online collection of over 3,300 fully searchable high quality ebooks in the humanities.

  • Index to articles in journals, museum bulletins and yearbooks on fine and applied arts, including architecture and archaeology; also indexes art reproductions appearing in periodicals. The majority of the articles are in English but some European languages are included.

  • Index to articles in journals, museum bulletins and yearbooks on fine and applied arts, including architecture and archaeology; also indexes art reproductions appearing in periodicals. The majority of the articles are in English but some European languages are included.

  • Digital collection of art images and multimedia from museum collections.

  • Archive of the art images from the Bridgman Collection, found within the Credo Reference database.

  • The electronic version of Grove's multi-volume art encyclopedia and other Oxford art reference works, with hyperlinks.

  • Resource to worldwide content on all aspects of the humanities in more than 1,450 full-text journals back to 1907.

  • Digital collection of images and descriptions representing visual culture from prehistoric times to the present.