Databases

An online collection of over 3,300 fully searchable high quality ebooks in the humanities.

Audio database of music from America’s past.

Composed of over 2.5 million images, Artstor provides faculty and students with a comprehensive image resource in a wide array of subjects with the breadth and depth to add context and examine influences beyond the confines of your discipline.

* On August 1, 2024, Artstor will fully merge with JSTOR, and the Artstor platform will be retired.

First published in 1902, Cambridge Histories has over 300 volumes spanning fifteen subject areas across the humanities and social sciences, with a concentration on political and cultural history, literature, philosophy, religious studies, music and the arts.

Hundreds of hours of classical music performances and masterpieces on video.

Comprehensive video resource for the study of music. Includes 200 operas and 75 dance titles.

Audio database of music from all regions of every continent.

2,000 hours of previously unpublished field recordings from around the world.

Online resource to music research of all the world’s peoples.

The electronic version of Grove's multi-volume music encyclopedia and other Oxford music reference works, with hyperlinks.

Resource to worldwide content on all aspects of the humanities in more than 1,450 full-text journals back to 1907.

Comprehensive collection of streaming jazz.

More than 600 Metropolitan Opera performances.

All of the music, dance, theater and film products from Alexander Street searchable on one platform.

A digital sheet music subscription service that provides access to tens of thousands of scores from over 100 publishers including Boosey & Hawkes, Bärenreiter, Breitkopf & Härtel and Ricordi. It can be accessed via app on your phone, tablet, or desktop.

The link is the same as during the trial period, so all those that registered during the trial just need to log back in.

nkoda set-up instructions:

1. Open this link and click “Get Started,” followed by “Sign up via email.” Enter your details and click “Sign Up.”
2. If you're at the appropriate location or network, you'll receive a prompt to "Continue as a member of Hunter College." Click "Yes."
3. A banner at the top of your screen will indicate "You are signed in as a member of Hunter College." This confirms you have successfully completed the process.
4. With your registration complete, you can now log in and access the app from any device, platform, or location, authenticated as a member of Hunter College.

If you have trouble signing up, contact Lisa Finder

You can access tutorials of nkoda here - https://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PLZ90Ch4kEpEyranTf4EUDhvHss1qjUt7p

Open network of digital resources for the study of music from Alexander Street; links to their products and open digital resources.

Hundreds of hours of opera performance through staged productions, interviews and documentaries.

Hundreds of thousands of tracks from major genres in pop music from around the world.

An aural encyclopedia of the world’s music traditions, produced in partnership with Smithsonian Folkways Recordings.

Thousands of examples of the world’s music, dance and other expressive behavior. All of the data and many of the analyses of research into the expressive arts carried out under the direction of Alan Lomax and the anthropologist Conrad Arensberg from 1960 to 1995 at Columbia University and Hunter College.