National Jukebox

May 12th, 2011 by Patricia Woodard

Yesterday the Library of Congress premiered the National Jukebox, a digital collection of music and spoken-word recordings produced in the U.S. between 1901 and 1925. Read the announcement of the site’s launch at

Want to hear Al Jolson or Enrico Caruso? How about a 1914 comic monologue (“Mr. Dooley’s Address to the Suffragists”)? Browse by artist or genre at Or listen to a sampler of the kinds of recordings included at

Experience the early 20th century in sound!

  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • email
  • RSS
  • LinkedIn

Posted in News

Leave a Reply